Bhakti Shastri

By Gauranga Darshan Das

The Bhakti Shastri course has four subjects taught in 6 modules as shown below along with the weightage of assessments for each book.

Books covered:

  1. Bhagavad-Gita
  2. Nectar of Instruction (Sri Upadesamrita)
  3. Sri Ishopanisad
  4. Nectar of Devotion (Sri Bhakti Rasamrita Sindhu)

Six Modules:

  1. Bhagavad Gita – Chapters 1-6 (BG1)
  2. Bhagavad Gita – Chapters 7-12 (BG2)
  3. Bhagavad Gita – Chapters 13-18 (BG3)
  4. Nectar of Instruction (NOI)
  5. Sri Isopanishad (ISO)
  6. Nectar of Devotion (NOD)

The students can do an assessment of a module only after completing the assessment of the previous module. However, they can continue to attend the classes.

DurationOne year

  • This includes course work & assessments
  • It can be extended up to 6 more months if some candidates need more time to complete assessments.

It is a self-paced course. The participants can watch the classes & attempt the exam at their convenience.

Eligibility to enroll:

  • A sincere desire to study and understand scriptures
  • Basic Shastric knowledge and understanding
  • The practice of Krishna consciousness for at least one year
  • Chanting of 16 rounds & following 4 regulative principles
  • A recommendation letter from an ISKCON Authority/ temple president who knows the candidate well.

Teacher: Gauranga Darshan Das (Author | Dean, BVRC)

Important Instructions:

- Participants can complete the closed-book exam & sloka exam with the help of the invigilator from the local temple.

  • (NOTE - The invigilator should be any senior devotee who is connected to the temple, has a Bhakti Shastri degree & knows the participant.)

- The participants can send the email to [email protected] 3-4 days prior to the exam date, keeping your invigilator's email address in cc (copy) and mention the day, date, time & module of the exam. The questions will be sent to the invigilator's email address 30 minutes before the exam.

- After writing the answers, the closed-book exam answersheets should be sent in a single PDF file from your supervisor to the same email address [email protected]. The same process you can follow for the Sloka exam. 

  • (NOTE - Participants can take photos & then scan them using adobe scanner, etc. app & make a PDF file. Kindly share the single file with the registered name & email ID on the first page & the page numbers on each page.)

- For open-book exams & MCQ quiz tests you don't require the presence of the invigilator. You can complete these exams at your convenience.

- The open-book exam answersheets should be submitted in a single PDF file directly to the same email address.

Weightage of Assessments for certification:

  • Bhagavad Gita Chapters 1-6 - 20%
  • Bhagavad Gita Chapters 7-12 - 20%
  • Bhagavad Gita Chapters 13-18 - 20%
  • Nectar of Instruction (NOI) - 10%
  • Sri Isopanishad (ISO) - 10%
  • Nectar of Devotion (NOI) - 20%

- In order to get the Bhakti Shastri degree from the ISKCON Board of Examinations, the candidate has to secure 65% in each of the six modules within one and half years from the time of registration.

Course Curriculum

  Course Information
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Student's Handbook
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Bhagavad-Gita Module-1 (Ch 1-6)
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Bhagavad-Gita Module-2 (Ch 7-12)
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Bhagavad-Gita Module-3 (Ch 13-18)
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Module-4 Upadeshamrita (The Nectar of Instruction)
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Module-5 Sri Isopanisad
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Module-6 Bhakti Rasamrata Sindhu
Available in days
days after you enroll

Choose a Pricing Option